Because, Really, Who Likes Cold Toes?

Since knitting my first pair of slippers, I’m hooked (and please pardon the unintentional crochet pun!).  There is nothing quite as comforting as warm toes inside thick, squishy handmade slippers.

Since moving back with my parents a few years ago due to changes in my personal life (a long story not to be told today), I have managed to wear through at least 3 pairs.  They have hardwood/laminate throughout, and slippers are a lovely comfort. The ball of the foot is the first to go, and after that I find I must say goodbye to these beloved accessories.

Warm and squishy slippers
Warm and squishy slippers

My go to pattern is Aunt Maggie’s Slippers, knit with two strands.  My first pair was made with only one strand, and I found they just don’t have the sturdiness that comes from two strands.  I have since made 6 pairs – four for myself, and two for family.  What has been the most fun for me with this pattern are the colours, trying to decide which two colours will work well together! Blue/tan, pink/grey, purple/grey, black/black and white variegated, the combination possibilities are endless!

I think my knitting bag says it all
I think my knitting bag says it all

I’ve had to remake the beloved slippers a week or so ago after wearing through yet another pair.  This pattern is knit flat, which means sewing up the toe and heel.  It’s around this point that my laziness and ability to grumble kicks in, and so, even though I’ve JUST made a pair, I began to cast on another pair.  This time, I started knitting flat, but once it measured 4″, I switched to DNPs, so that the toe will be knit as one, therefore no sewing! The heel still needs seeming, but I’m looking at the toes as being a victory.

 

I’ve recently learned that in Quebec, it is a custom to have a basket of slippers by the front door, encouraging guests to remove their outer shoes (not many Canadians wear shoes inside anyways), and to wear slippers to keep your feet warm and cozy.  There is something so quaint and charming about this idea.  Once I buy my very own home, which is the plan once one is available in my price range, I will be adopting this idea and welcoming guests with slippers to warm their feet because, really, who likes having cold toes?

3 thoughts on “Because, Really, Who Likes Cold Toes?”

Leave a Reply

