Decorating Your Cake, and Eating It Too!

Yeah, I’ll drop all presences and state unequivocally that I enjoy decorated cakes and cupcakes largely so that I can enjoy the fruits of my labour.  Yes, with knitting, I get to wear the finished product, but with cakes, I get to EAT said products!  …I have a major sweet tooth…

My parents hosted Easter dinner this past Saturday, and for dessert, I made my go-to dessert, cupcakes.  A few years ago, I made mini cupcakes, each topped with a few Mini Eggs for a spring/Easter look.

015
2013’s Easter cupcakes, complete with chocolate eggs and chocolate bunnies

I didn’t alter 2013’s cupcakes too much for this year, again keeping with a spring theme, topping each cupcake with grass and flowers.  Wilton also sells these fun cupcake wrappers which make the cupcakes look even fancier than they are, and the white picket fence was the perfect way to finish my floral garden cupcakes.

10931016_10100849450707650_3083736357689026210_n
2015’s Springtime cupcakes

They tasted pretty good too.

Because of the Easter weekend and because April is shaping up to be a busy month at work, I am right now on day 4 of 5 days off in a row, so I have also got a lot of knitting done! I am more than halfway done my second Gryffindor scarf, I finished my ‘camouflage’ socks, and I have finished the leg to my self-striping turtle toes socks.  Lots to keep me busy!

How can you even see my toes with the camouflage yarn?!  Nice warm toes in nice warm socks
How can you even see my toes with the camouflage yarn?! Nice warm toes in nice warm socks
1 thought on “Decorating Your Cake, and Eating It Too!”

Leave a Reply

