We Are Canadian.

Today, I was a part of something amazing.  The more I’m thinking about it, the more amazed I am and the more honoured I am to have been a part of it.  I was able to witness a Citizenship ceremony, where 43 people became Canadians.

I was invited to be a discussion host for a citizenship discussion that happened before the actual swearing in, and I chatted with three individuals and their children about what becoming Canadian means to them, and it truly opened my eyes to things I have taken for granted.  Having a passport.  Being able to travel.  Free healthcare.  Voting.  Living in such a diverse, unique nation.

After the discussions, the Citizenship ceremony took place, and I stood and reaffirmed my oath as a Canadian.  Being born here, swearing the Oath of Citizenship is something I had never done before, but I proudly raised my right hand and said the words alongside those saying it for the first time as Canadians.  All together, at the end of the ceremony, we sang our National Anthem, and it was sung loud and with great pride.

Today was a happy day.  I left and my cheeks were sore from smiling so much.  I was honoured to play even the smallest role in this very important ceremony.  I am forever grateful that my grandparents and great-grandparents made the choice to settle in Canada.  I love my country, and today reminded me of the many reasons why I love it.  I have never been more proud to be Canadian.

Leave a Reply

