SMASH It Up!

A few weeks ago, I finished completed a lovely asymetrical shawl, Smash by Rebeka Darylin, a FREE pattern available on Ravelry.  Head over, check it out, rummage through your stash for the perfect fingering yarn, and make this shawl.  I was able to knit it over two weeks or so, and the pattern itself was simple to memorize.  The asymmetry truly grabbed my attention to begin with, and the fact that Ms. Darylin made hers with a bright purple and green yarn cemented my love for this project.  Her description of the pattern is fun to read, and it’s clear her inspiration was drawn from comic books and superheroes!

Smash in progress, mid-September.
Smash in progress, mid-September.

I made my Smash shawl with the lovely SweetGeorgia Yarns Tough Love Sock in the Rockwater colourway.  Bright colours make me happy; I am not one to shy away from colour, and with its bright whites, tans, purples, and teals, this colourway was oh-so-me.  I bought the yarn a number of months ago at the Toronto Knitter’s Frolic and it has been tempting me in my stash! I finally settled on this pattern and it was a great knit!

The Completed SMASH
The Completed SMASH – many thanks a lovely co-worker for taking these pictures!

I’m deep into gift knitting.  Two projects are WIPs, and one is a zipper away from being finished (is it just me, or is installing zippers just the WORST part of a project?!). As the days fly by and the days start turning cold, I’m starting to feel the holiday season crunch!  My needles are consumed by knits, purls and cables.  Here’s hoping I can keep them moving fast enough to get the gifts complete!

Happy knitting!

Leave a Reply

