Back to Life; Back to Reality

Two week break from blogging, and I’m back! What a crazy two weeks!!

I have no real excuse for not writing last week, however, I’m going to lay blame on vacation recovery.  I took a week off from work, well overdue mind you, and I’ve spent the week after running like a headless chicken to catch up! The vacation was nice and relaxing, but I think I need a vacation after my week back from vacation!

The trip was phenomenal, relaxing, busy, fun, silly, sunny, and fabulous!  My best friend and I turned/are turning 30 this year.  To celebrate this, we planned a trip.  Not just any trip: we took a cruise – Sailing with the Scotts.  Yes, those Scotts.  The Property Brothers.  Jonathan and Drew.  It. Was. Awesome.

The week of craziness started Nov 13, where BFF, Sister and I saw the Barenaked Ladies/Alan Doyle show at Massey Hall in Toronto.  As already mentioned on this lovely blog, they’re pretty much my favourite band, so this was a great start to the week.  The show was a blast, with a surprise appearance from Twisted Sister’s Dee Snider.  I sang (well, screamed) We’re Not Going To Take It with Dee Flipping Snider.  It doesn’t get any cooler than that.

The day following was a day of travel, and the Sunday was spent shopping in Miami.  I had to resist every fibre in my being that wanted to sing Will Smith’s Miami every second that I was in that city.  But I wasn’t going to be that tourist.  Out loud.  I was totally that tourist in my head.

20151117_115314
At the Key West Port

The cruise itself was Monday to basically Thursday (we were booted off the ship early Friday morning, so Friday doesn’t count).  This was my first time on a cruise ship, and I must say, I’m not sure if I’m sold on the whole experience.  It was fun, don’t get me wrong, but apparently, I’m not much of a seafarer, and I spent more time than I wanted trying to stave off motion-sickness.  There was always something to do and always good food to eat!

And, of course, there were the Property Brothers.  I’ve been asked by pretty much everyone upon my return if I met them, if they were nice, etc, etc, etc, and I wish I had a better answer other than very briefly.  There were over 2000 people on board, and BFF and I aren’t the pushy sorts of people, so we had few interactions.  There was so much put on the Property Brothers, so much for them to do, and they tried to meet with as many people as possible.  I cannot imagine how much they had to do, and you can tell they truly appreciate their fans. We did pay for a meet and greet (again, where there were so many fans and so little time), and there was the photo op afterwards.  There were two pics, thank goodness, because I looked very crazy-fan-esque in the first one, but this second one turned out okay, I think:

D3S_9076-325
Drew, Jonathan, and short little me in the middle. I’m wearing heels and barely coming up to their shoulders.

We had two port stops: Key West and Cozumel.  I didn’t try in Cozumel, but in Key West, I asked a friendly woman if there were any yarn shops. The answer I received was along the lines of, “With the heat, there’s no need for knitting.”  Clearly Key West is doing knitting wrong!  I did get some knitting accomplished, not only on the planes but also on the ship. I like that the history of this particular piece means that it has been in Buffalo, Miami, Key West, in the Gulf of Mexico, and home here in the GTA.  It is a well travelled WIP, and I’ll share more about it in the coming weeks.

In all, I danced, I ate, I swam, I relaxed, I slightly fan-girled at the Property Brothers, and I super fan-girled at the BNL show.  This was by no means my average week, and this is so cheesy to say, but I now have memories to last a lifetime. Oh man, I can feel the cheese-factor radiating from the screen from that statement, but it is so true.  Great night with my sister, great week with my dear best friend.

12274280_10101009768499510_1722851669318778200_n

After everything though, I am happy to be back home.

4 thoughts on “Back to Life; Back to Reality”

  1. Seeing your favorite band and going on a cruise in Florida in the space of a week? Wow! That must have been amazing! That’s a really cute picture of you and the Scotts. I had no idea that they were popular enough to throw a cruise, let alone one with 2000 people onboard. (Shows what I know about HGTV’s reach!) That sounds like such a great way to give back to their fans. Glad you and your sister had an amazing time!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

