Christmas Round-Up #1 – The Argos Hat

Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays everyone! I hope you have been enjoying this season of merriment! I had a lovely few days with my family, ate a lot of food, visited with friends, and am currently enjoying a few days off from work.  All is very well right now.

Even with the holiday behind us, I’m still knitting up a storm! My largest gift, which I’ve been working on intermittently since September, is still on going, but Dad now knows he going to receive a lovely forest green sweater.  It is a sleeve and a half away from completion, and I’ll feature it once it’s finished.

As I’ve been hinting for weeks about my various WIPs, I thought I would write a few posts highlighting the finished objects.  I’m starting with the gift for my brother: the Argos Hat.

My brother is always the hardest for me to gift. Since he’s been old enough to work, he’s been able to buy himself whatever he wants and needs. He’s a simple guy who likes gaming and sports. As I know less than nothing about gaming, I tend to give him things related more to sports and/or experiences. Tickets seem to go over well.

Last year for Christmas, I made him a hat, ChemKnits New England Patriots Hat, appropriate as his favourite NFL team is the Pats.  It wasn’t my first project with colourwork, but it was by far and away the most complex.  Brother loved it. As I’m completely unoriginal, I thought I would make him another hat this Christmas, although with a closer-to-home motif.

I used the basic hat structure that ChemKnits designed, but I designed the colourwork pattern, the Toronto Argonauts logo. (Side note for context: in Canada, we have our own football league, the CFL with nine teams. The game basics are the same, although our field is longer and there are only three downs, not four.  The Argos are our local team. Context complete). Whenever he can, Brother goes to games, often with Dad, and whenever a game is playing, chances are it’s on a TV somewhere in the house. Knowing Brother appreciated the Pats hat, I thought a matching Argos hat would go over just as well, and sure enough it did.

Charting the logo proved to be slightly more challenging than I expected, but all in all, I was happy with the chart and happy with the finished object. My design is simpler than the actual logo, but a fan knows what it is and my brother appreciated his gift. I’m still not great at colourwork, and I’d like to spend more time in 2016 practicing this technique.

image_medium2
Modelling the complete Argos hat

As this will be my last post for 2015, I’d like to say thank you to everyone who has followed my blog, who reads my posts, or if you’ve just stumbled across this for the first time on the world wide web. It’s been a great full year of blogging, and I cannot wait to continue sharing my stories, my current projects, and my historic knits, in 2016!

Happy New Year everyone!

 

3 thoughts on “Christmas Round-Up #1 – The Argos Hat”

Leave a Reply

