The Mysterious Case of the Disappearing Cable Needle

Has this ever happened to you?  You’re working on a lovely pattern, full of beautiful cables and yarn twists.  You’re dutifully following the chart and when it comes time to slip those assigned stitches onto a cable needle, you find that it has somehow disappeared? This happens to me all the time, leaving me flailing about searching for this helpful tool.

Part of this is my own fault. No, actually, the darned thing disappearing is completely by my own doing, but it makes me feel better to think there might be a mystery afoot.  Let me explain.

I like to knit while in a makeshift nest – typically this means I’m curled up on my couch or favourite armchair, wearing a big bulky sweater and cozy underneath a warm blanket.  I’m also typically surrounded by notion cases, pattern books, and yarn.  While knitting along, if using a cable needle, I’ll use it then put it down, and it inevitably gets lost somewhere in this haphazard nest I’ve created, leaving me searching and, well, swearing, once I need it again.  I search, I throw blankets about, and the cursed cable needle ultimately goes flying across the room.  If I’m forward thinking, I stick the needle back into the ball of yarn, and it’s handy once I need it again. I’m not often forward thinking.  Here inlies my problem.

As often as I can, I use the ‘cable without a needle technique.’  Have you tried this before? It is a much faster way of cabling, and it is somewhat less awkward because you have one less needle either in front of or behind your piece as you’re working. There are times, however, when it just isn’t that easy.  Perhaps you’re working a 16 stitch cable, or the yarn is too slippery and you just don’t trust the whole ‘slipping stitches off the needle’ thing.  Those are the times that both curse words and cable needles go a-flying as I continuously search for that blasted notion that somehow manages to disappear.

I love cabling.  I love how simple of a technique it is, but yet it creates a fabric that looks complicated and intricate.  What I really want to know is how I manage to lose the cable needle time and time again… that my friends, is the mystery.

6 thoughts on “The Mysterious Case of the Disappearing Cable Needle”

  1. If anyone ever tears our house down they will find thousands of cable needles, stitch markers, point protectors and bobby pins and wonder what kind of weird hoarder lived here…

    Like

  2. Are you in my house? OMG! I have 3 cable projects going, one easily cabled without needle, one not at all, and one that I just can’t face working on right now. LOL. And I have a lost cable needle somewhere in my “nest” “corner” “domain”, they all work. So, I had to dig out another needle and this one I promise to stick in the blanket as I work on it. Well, at least until I forget and put it on one of the surfaces next to my chair. Which is where the other one was that has gone missing!!!

    Like

    1. One of these days I’m going to sit on one of the cable needles. It’s only a matter of time, I’m sure 🙂

      This truly seems to be a universal problem. We’re all in this together!

      Like

Leave a Reply

