Frolic – 2016 Edition

How much do I love the Knitter’s Frolic?  I posted last year after attending what was my first Frolic, the knitting event hosted by the Toronto Knitter’s Guild.  It’s essentially ComicCom for knitters with the market place open on Saturday with vendors from all over the province and sometimes beyond, and there are additional workshops that one could register for where you can learn all sorts of techniques.

After last year, I knew how dangerous this event could be to one’s bank account, so I had been squirreling away spare cash for weeks and intentionally left my credit card at home.  I am so very happy with my new purchases.

20160430_154633

Before showing off the yarny goodness, I’ll start with the book I bought – Knitting Rules by Stephanie Pearl-McPhee, better known in the knitting community as the Yarn Harlot. I just picked this book up from my library and fell in love with it, so when I saw a copy for purchase, it had to come home with me.

Yarn Harlot was actually at the Frolic this year, leading some workshops, and I had a yarn fangirl moment when I saw her around the Frolic a number of times! I was sorely tempted to kinnear her, but I resisted – follow the link to find out just what kinnearing is!

Now for the good stuff!

My cotton DK from Dye-Version, based in Mississauga:

PicMonkey Collage

The colourway – Blue Steel! I couldn’t resist

From Shelridge Farm in  Durham, ON, two skeins of fingering wool, Peacock colour, and a pattern that I can (and will) make with it.

20160430_154046

And from Stitch Please (how can you not love that name!!), fingering merino, colourway Men in Tights.

PicMonkey Collage2

I am so suckered in by fun names…

I also tried something new this year and I volunteered! It was a last minute decision on my part to send the email and commit, but I am so glad I did!  I spent two hours winding yarn from skein to cake, and it was so much fun! I was able to chat with people, something I love to do, and I got to see all the lovely yarn that people were buying! And besides, winding yarn is fun.  I’d love to help out again next year at the winding station, and I won’t wait until the week before to commit!

20160430_151642

6 thoughts on “Frolic – 2016 Edition”

Leave a Reply

