The Most Common Question I Get Knitting with 9″ Circulars

I love my 9″ circular sock needles. I bought them over six months ago and haven’t looked back since.Because they aren’t a common tool for knitting, people tend to be curious about them and ask me questions. Commonly, people ask how on earth I knit with such tiny needles (you get used to them), and even more common, how do I knit the heel flap and turn the heel? To best answer this question, I took pictures as I knit my latest sock project

IMG_0338
Here is my sock, leg completed, ready to start the heel.

I use the circular needle to hold the instep stitches, and use DPNs to work the heel.

IMG_0355.JPG
Working the flap with the DPNs and the circular is behind with the instep stitches
IMG_0356.JPG
Another view, just after the heel has been turned. You can see, I’m ready to start picking up the gusset stitches.
IMG_0357.JPG
So I transfer instep to DPN, and then transfer heel to circular which means I’m ready to start work on the gusset and foot!

Perhaps people think there’s some magic I’m able to ONLY knit the socks on the circular. That is not the trick. The trick is being prepared and having enough tools to get the job done!

And in case you’re wondering about the stunning yarn, it’s madelinetosh Tosh Sock, Robin’s Egg colourway, and the pattern is Devil’s Snare Sock by Erica Lueder.

4 thoughts on “The Most Common Question I Get Knitting with 9″ Circulars”

Leave a Reply

