My Favourite Finished Object

Through the month of September, the blog Knitting in Wonderland has created the 30 Day Challenge: every day, there’s a new question or theme to explore.  If you’re a frequent reader of my blog, then you’ll know sometimes I struggle for inspiration for post topics, and you’ll also know that I’m not the best at sticking to a schedule. Today is a wonderful case in point: it’s Tuesday, and I try to get a new post up every Monday.  When I learned of the 30 Day Challenge, I knew that it wasn’t something I could faithfully carry through, but Meggiewes has come up with some insightful questions, and I’m using a few of her questions to write about.

Today’s question has truly got me thinking: What is your favorite piece that you’ve knit?

It’s hard to pick just one, and looking through my project gallery reminds me a) of how much I’ve knit over five years, b) how varied my projects are, and c) how much I’ve grown as a knitter.

I think I’m the most proud of the sweater I made for my father. It was four months in the making, one of the largest projects I’ve ever completed, and it is so loved. My father knew how much time was invested in this project, which increased his overall appreciation for it, and he wears it all the time. On the knitworthy scale, my father ranks pretty darn high. It tried my patience at times, but I loved this finished sweater, and I would knit another like this for my beloved dad in a heartbeat.

img_1318
Basking in the glow of his glorious sweater

Speaking of sweaters, I LOVE my Midwinter’s Cardigan. It’s a go-to sweater when the weather turns cold; it’s warm and elegantly simple.

PicMonkey Collage

This past weekend was a tad cold, considering it was the ‘last long weekend of the summer.’ Yesterday was Labour Day, a statutory holiday in Canada, so I enjoyed a leisurely morning on my back deck, reading A Tree Grows in Brooklyn while sipping my first of many cups of coffee. Because it was a touch on the chilly side, I grabbed my Chateau Shawl. It is the perfect sweater for wrapping yourself up in and staving off cold weather. The yarn was purchased at a LYS with a gift certificate from my Grandma, increasing the love for this project.

P1170693_medium2
My favourite, slouchy, comfy Chateau Shawl

As it turns out, this post has also been a showcase of how much my hair has grown in over three years!

2 thoughts on “My Favourite Finished Object”

Leave a Reply

