My Great-Grandmother Was A Knitter

When I first started with my knitting obsession hobby, my mother would watch me work and comment,

“I know you didn’t get this from me. The knitting gene must skip a few generations. You’ve inherited this from Granny.”

My great-grandmother was a knitter. She was a knitting instructor many years ago in England, on top of raising eight children. Β One of those kids was my beloved Grandad, and if there’s truth to the stories I’ve heard through the years of his, let’s say rambunctious nature, as a child, then my Granny certainly had her hands full!

Even though she lived on the other side of the Atlantic, my great-grandmother made a few pieces for me when I was a kid, notably my sister and I were adorable in matching sweaters with fruit on the front of them.

After one visit to England in the mid-1990s, my grandparents returned home with a blue toned sweater, saying Granny made it, but it wasn’t the right size for her. I can’t remember how, but the sweater became mine. I’ve had it for 20 years, and on particularly cool days, I break this sweater out and feel comforted not only by its warmth, but also by the skill in each stitch, somehow making me feel connected to the great-grandmother I was lucky enough to meet and with whom I share a passion and a craft.

Me wearing my Granny sweater, with 20 years between pictures.

 

6 thoughts on “My Great-Grandmother Was A Knitter”

Leave a Reply

