2017 Yarn Challenge

I love my local yarn shops.  I have four in my city and neighbouring towns that I visit with some frequency (much to the chagrin of my bank account). One such neighbouring LYS is Soper Creek Yarns, and every year around this time, they host a yarn challenge.  I talked about this last year when I bought my first kit and participated for the first time. Well it’s back for 2017 and I’m super excited to cast on!

Here’s the yarn:


Berroco Remix Light in three colourways.

I have a pattern picked out, and I’ll be casting on later today. As the Yarn Challenge is a contest – shop visitors vote on their favourite finished objects – and anonymity is key to its success and a big part of the fun, I won’t share my chosen pattern or the finished object until after the contest is over.  For now, check out the pretty yarn and just imagine all the possible things one could knit with it.

Happy knitting!

4 thoughts on “2017 Yarn Challenge”

  1. I’ve actually never been to a yarn shop, only to places like Joanne’s or Michaels. I really want to, I need to find a local place to find that huge yarn for armknitting blankets… Great post!!!xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Local yarn shops are wonderful for so many reasons – the selection they carry are usually unique and can range from basic yarn (like you can get a big craft stores) or the more higher end. I like how often they carry indie dyers, truly unique yarns, and when you go to a LYS, you’re supporting small business owners, who more often then not are the friendliest people who are more that happy to help you find what you’re looking for!

      Thanks for reading, and have fun shopping!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

